AGM Stone are proud to have been part of a recent maintenance project on the Crinan Canal, one that saw this historic waterway being closed completely while various tasks were carried out. The extensive upgrade included the construction of new actuator pits and new lock gates.
The Crinan Canal was opened in 1801, running between Crinan and Ardrishaig in Argyll and Bute, to connect the River Clyde and the Inner Hebrides. The recent project saw parts of the canal fully drained for the first time in many years, and of course those areas below the original waterline were in need of a great deal of maintenance.
The team from AGM Stone was brought in to carry out a number of stone indents and replacements, in particular to various isolated areas within the locks in the canal basin. It was an extremely interesting process, especially given the rich history of such an iconic waterway.
Scottish Canals, the body that manages the Crinan Canal, have invested a significant sum of money in replacing lock gates and dredging various waterways, in order to maintain effective navigation for both commercial and domestic users. We at AGM Stone were delighted to be involved in the project.
In addition, we were also brought in to carry out similar duties on the 29-lock Caledonian Canal. It’s one of the most popular visitor attractions in the Highlands, connecting Inverness with Corpach, near Fort William, and is around 60 miles in length. The legendary Scottish civil engineer Thomas Telford was heavily involved with the creation of both the Caledonian and Crinan Canals, and at AGM Stone we were so pleased to be able to get up close and personal with his work.
We enjoyed the opportunity to learn first-hand that here’s something very special about being involved with projects that help to maintain Scotland’s rich canal heritage.